2021 Chattanooga Technology Excellence Awards (TechX) Nomination Site
Submission Deadline03/28/2021

Chattanooga Technology Council (ChaTech) & participating sponsors invite you to the 2nd Annual Technology Excellence Awards (TechX)!

Ever wondered how you can show appreciation to that individual who consistently delivers technology solutions with a big business impact? How can you highlight a team member who demonstrates creative problem-solving in business and the community? Where can you showcase your IT and tech leaders’ achievements?


About ChaTech's TechX:
The Technology Excellence Awards (TechX) is a virtual awards ceremony celebrating the hard work, expertise, and dedication of the region’s tech & IT companies and their workforce! Participating sponsors, ChaTech member companies, and guests will come together to honor finalists for their outstanding contributions to the industry and community. 

When: Wednesday, May 19, 2021 @ 12:00PM
Where: Virtual 

Your nominee could be honored as a finalist, so don't miss this exciting opportunity! Watch TechX 2020 to get inspired!

Nominate one (or more!) for one of these 11 TechX Awards (listed in alphabetical order):
1. CxO of the Year
Honors a senior technology executive, such as a VP or C-Suite, for their innovation and creativity in planning and deploying enterprise systems, future technology goals, management philosophies, and service to the industry and community.

2. Data Analyst or Data Analytics Leader of the Year
Celebrates an individual who has executed a data or analytics implementation to enhance organizational decision making and operations. Includes Data Science, Analytics, Business Intelligence, Data Engineers, Database Developer, ETL, or similar professional.

3. Early Innovator Award
Honors a technology-based innovation from an existing or emerging company.  The innovation will be a prototype product, a new process, or early-stage software application with the potential for a significant competitive advantage or groundbreaking disruption in its field.

4. Infrastructure Leader/Engineer of the Year
Recognizes an IT Infrastructure professional who has led unparalleled business transformation using infrastructure technologies. Includes Network Admin, Server Admin, Firewall Admin, or similar professional.

5. IT Champion for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Recognizes an individual, manager level or above, who demonstrates outstanding effort to foster a climate of diversity, equity and inclusion.  This professional actively works to mitigate biases and proactively recruits and retains diverse talent at all levels of the department or company, with proven positive results.

6. IT Team of the Year
Celebrates an IT team who has made outstanding contributions to its organization by utilizing technology to improve operations, deliver new capabilities, or demonstrate significant creativity/innovation in the strategic delivery of solutions.

7. Most Impactful Project of the Year
Recognizes a technology project that had a transformative impact on the company, its customers, or a community. The winning project will have responded to a business problem, met customer needs, or impacted the broader community in a significant way.

8. Security Leader of the Year
Recognizes a security leader, manager level or above, who demonstrates excellence, innovation, and leadership in information security.

9. Software Developer/Engineer or Leader of the Year
Celebrates an innovative individual who has made outstanding contributions to the advancement of software development or demonstrated significant creativity in building applications.

10. Technology Company of the Year
Recognizes a service provider company that has demonstrated exceptional insight and innovation using technological strategies to improve productivity, enhance organizational performance, and/or develop new markets.

11. Unsung Tech Hero of the Year
Distinguishes an unheralded individual who is a technology superstar, in the trenches, paving the way for a successful implementation, a smooth business day, or a working desktop device.

Anyone can submit a nomination--nominators and nominees do not need to be from ChaTech member companies!  Some basic information about the individual, team, project, innovation, or company is needed to complete the nomination form.  All nominations must be submitted through this website.  The nomination is complete when the submitter sees the confirmation page. 

Each nominee receives an email congratulating them on their nomination. The email lists the award category, the name of the nominator, and the text on why they were nominated.  The nominees must complete the full award application and submit it by March 22nd in order to be considered.

About ChaTech:
We are a nonprofit professional association dedicated to connecting the regional technology and IT community to help drive economic growth for all.  Our members include companies of all sizes and industries working in or serving southeast Tennessee and northwest Georgia. ChaTech provides professional education, networking events, and outreach programs to foster interest in IT careers.  Creating a diverse, connected, and vibrant tech ecosystem means attracting and recognizing our great tech talent.

Learn more at www.chatechcouncil.org or connect on socials: @chatechcouncil !

  1. You may nominate yourself or someone else.  You must provide some basic information about the individual, team, project, innovation, or company to successfully complete the nomination form.   The nomination is not complete until you get to the confirmation screen. 
  2. You may nominate more than one person/team/company for any category. 
  3. After submitting a nomination, the nominee will receive an email notifying them of the nomination and requesting that they complete the application.  The application is not completed unless the nominee completes the questions and hits the Submit button before the deadline.
  4. As a courtesy, if you nominate someone else, let them know!  Tell them to be on the lookout for an email with details about how to complete the application.
  5. Please do not nominate someone in a category where the nominee does not meet the criteria.  Their application will not be eligible to progress through the review process.
  6. The actual application questions are tailored to each specific category.  Some categories require more information and time to complete than others.
  7. You may nominate someone who has been nominated in the past, including those who were Finalists in 2020. However, no individual 2020 TechX winner or their company may be nominated in the same category they won last year.  (Example:  BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee cannot be nominated in the CxO of the Year category.  However, the company or individuals may be nominated in other categories).

The 2020 Winners who may not be nominated in 2021 are:

  • CXO of the Year - Jennifer Butler (BlueCross BlueShield of TN)
  • Data Analytics Team of the Year - Freightwaves
  • Early Innovator of the Year - Bite Force Amp Controller
  • Infrastructure Team of the Year - PlayCore
  • Project of the Year - Global NOC Monitoring (UNUM)
  • Security Leader of the Year - Wes Floyd - Kenco Logistics Services
  • Software Developer of the Year - Kenston O'Neal - EirSystems
  • Technology Company of the Year - Text Request
  • Unsung Technology Hero of the Year - Kristin Burrus - STEM School Chattanooga, HCS

Thank you for your time and interest in completing a TechX nomination. If you have questions or need assistance with any aspect of the process, please email TechXNominations@chatechcouncil.org or phone 423.322.1649. 

Event Photos
Event Videos